top of page
  • Writer's pictureDJ

Shaving, by Donald Sheridan


This review is for Shaving, by Donald Sheridan. Published by Covenant Books, Inc. I would consider it a Non-fiction, Memoir. The book-length is 123 pages. The publication date is September 17, 2019.


I give this book a 5/5 Star rating.


What kind of nonfiction story receives a 5-star rating from me:

* The intent or message was excellent and kept me drawn in the topic the entire time.

* The subject matter was explained so that I wasn’t confused and could follow everything the entire way through the book.

*The topic was easily understood.

* I will recommend this book to others because I felt the message was that good.


Key thoughts:

I will admit up front that the purchase of this book was simple and a no brainer for me. Don Sheridan was my Speech teacher in college and his wife Jean, was one of my high school English teachers. Both teachers left a lasting and permanent imprint on my heart and soul. That being said, I loved this look into the mirror, or past if you so chose to call it.

Review:


As Don told me, this book isn’t really about shaving, it’s about reflecting on the small details that make life so wonderful. Whether it was a look back on his parents, his marriage to Jean, his son, Matt, and his two grandchildren, or the realities that hit you once you reach an age where reflecting on the life you have lead; the stories in this book are wonderful and touching. Even his dog, Dog makes an appearance. I enjoyed the details that make his life both fascinating and thought-provoking. This book was a very quick read. I found myself reading it from start to finish as soon as it arrived. I chuckled at some of the antics that are fitting to the man I know and I realized Don is much deeper than the teacher we knew in the classroom and even more brilliant than he lets most people believe. He might also have a much deeper sense of humor than I was lead to believe.


I hope you will check out this book and that you enjoy reading these stories as much as I did. I am already looking forward to the next book that will be published soon! This book can be purchased on Amazon at


After you read it, let me know what you think!

18 views0 comments
bottom of page