top of page
  • Writer's pictureDJ

Book Review Rubric

For books reviewed on this blog the following will be my star-rating rubric.


5 stars: aka this book is AMAZING!!!


For fiction:


1. I fell in love with everything about this story.

2. I became invested in the characters and felt like they were a part of my life while reading it.

3. The book drew me in and took me away to another place, time, or life.

4. I couldn’t stand to put it down.

5. The characters are well-developed, the plot is interesting and well thought-out and everything about the book is researched.

6. I want to read more books by this author, I will look them up and follow them on Facebook, Amazon, and Goodreads.

7. Most importantly, there was something so moving about this book that I will tell everyone I know that they should read it. It will keep my thoughts coming back to it for a long time. And lastly, this book earns a permanent spot on my bookcase.


For nonfiction:


1. The intent or message was excellent and kept me drawn in the topic the entire time.

2. The subject matter was explained so that I wasn’t confused and could follow everything the entire way through the book.

3. The topic was well researched and easily understood.

4. I will recommend this book to others because I felt the message was that good.


4 stars:


For fiction:


1. The story is well written and enjoyable but there was just something missing that kept it from being a 5-star book. I picked it up during lulls in my day.

2. I might have read similar stories but was still able to enjoy this one.

3. The plot of the story and character development are well thought out.

4. I would be interested in reading more work by this author.

5: I will recommend this to others that enjoy this genre.


For nonfiction:


1. The intent or message was well stated and kept me interested in the topic.

2. The subject matter was explained well.

3. The topic is well researched but lacked some detail.

4. I will recommend this book to others who also are interested in this topic.


3 stars:


For fiction:


1. This book was well-written but lacked the “it” factor.

2. It was an enjoyable read but it didn’t grip me from start to finish.

3. It had a good plot but there were holes in the story or character development might have needed a bit more work.

4. I might or might not recommend this book to others.


For nonfiction:


1. The topic was what I thought it would be about.

2. I was able to follow the message.

3. I was able to come away knowing more than when I started.

4. I might or might not recommend this book to others.


2 stars:


For fiction:


1.I found the book poorly written.

2. It needed better editing before releasing it.

3. The plot was just okay. There could have been a lot more time invested in rounding it out.

4. The characters were one dimensional.

5. I wouldn’t recommend this book to others.


For nonfiction:

1. I finished the book but found it poorly written.

2. It needed better editing before releasing it.

3. There should have been more time spent researching the topic.

4. I wouldn’t recommend this book to others.


1 star:


1. I could not finish it or it was a struggle to get through.

2. The writing was awful or offensive.

3. There were so many errors I struggled to not throw it away.

4. How was this even published?

5. I disliked it so much, I will not recommend it, ever.

3 views0 comments
bottom of page